Premier Alexander B. Campbell resigned September 11, 1978. Hon. W. Bennett Campbell was elected interim leader of the Liberal party September 16, 1978 and was sworn in as premier two days later.

Cabinet changes by November 1978 were as follows:

Premier, President of the Executive Council and Minister of Finance, Hon. W. Bennett Campbell Minister of Education, Minister of Industry and Commerce and Minister of Development, Hon. John H. Maloney Minister of Justice and Attorney General and Minister responsible for the Housing Corporation and for Cultural Affairs, Hon. James B. Fay Minister without portfolio, Hon. Allison Ellis

Nova Scotia. Following the provincial election of September 19, 1978, party standings were: Progressive Conservatives 31, Liberals 17, New Democrats 4.

The Executive Council of Nova Scotia in October 1978

Premier, President of the Executive Council and Minister of Finance, Hon. John M. Buchanan Minister of Development, Chairman of the

Treasury Board, Minister responsible for Inter-Governmental Affairs and Minister in charge of Administration of the Research Foundation Corporation Act, Hon. Roland J. Thornhill

Minister of Lands and Forests and Minister in charge of Administration of the Liquor Control Act, Hon, George Henley

Minister of Agriculture and Marketing, Minister of Health, Minister in charge of Administration of the Drug Dependency Act and Registrar General, Hon. Gerald Sheehy

Attorney General, Provincial Secretary and Minister in charge of Administration of the Regulations Act, Hon. Henry W. How

Minister of Mines and Minister in charge of the Nova Scotia Energy Council, Hon. Ronald Barkhouse

Minister of Tourism, Minister of the Environment and Minister in charge of the Administration of the EMO (NS) Act and Regulations, Hon. Roger S. Bacon Minister of Fisheries and Minister of Recreation, Hon. Donald Cameron

Minister of Consumer Affairs, Minister in charge of Administration of the Housing Development Act, Minister in charge of Administration of the Communications and Information Act and Minister in charge of the Residential Tenancies Act, Hon, Bruce Cochran

Minister of Social Services and Minister in charge of Administration of the Civil Service Act, Hon-John MacIsaac

Minister of Labour and Minister of Public Works, Hon. Kenneth Streatch

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Minister in charge of Administration of the Human Rights Act, Hon. Ronald Giffin

Minister of Education and Minister in charge of Administration of the Advisory Council on the Status of Women Act, Hon. Terence R.B. Donahoe

Minister of Highways and Minister in charge of the Office of Communications Policy, Hon. Thomas J. McInnis

New Brunswick. Following the provincial election of October 23, 1978, party standings were: Progressive Conservatives 30, Liberals 28,

The Executive Council of New Brunswick in November 1978

Premier and President of the Executive Council, Hon. Richard Hatfield

Minister of Justice, Hon. Rodman E. Logan Minister of Finance, Hon. Fernand Dubé Chairman of the Treasury Board, Hon. Jean-Maurice Simard

Minister of Supply and Services, Hon. Harold Fanjoy

Minister of Transportation, Hon. Wilfred G. Bishop Minister of Natural Resources, Hon. J.W. (Bud) Bird

Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Hon. Malcolm MacLeod

Minister of Health, Hon. Brenda Robertson Minister of Social Services, Hon. Leslie Hull Minister of Labour and Manpower, Hon. Mabel M. DeWare Minister of Education, Hon. Charles Gallagher Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. Horace B. Smith

Minister of Commerce and Development, Hon. Gerald S. Merrithew

Minister of Fisheries, Hon. Jean Gauvin
Minister of the Environment and Minister
responsible for housing and the New Brunswick
Housing Corporation, Hon. Eric J. Kipping

Minister of Youth, Recreation and Cultural Resources, Hon. Jean-Pierre Ouellel Minister of Tourism, Hon. Leland McGaw Chairman of the New Brunswick Electric Power

Chairman of the New Brunswick Electric Pow Commission, Hon. G.W.N. Cockburn